Skip to content

New Chairs Committee

The New Chairs committee supports new AMSPDC members appointed within the last three years. The Committee members familiarize new members to the organization, maintain a mentor program and develop the yearly New Chairs Program. Our goal is to foster a welcoming collaborative learning environment to help chairs transition into their roles. There are monthly calls and members assist with communication, mentorship and content development.

2023 New Chair Committee Report

Mitchell B. Cohen, MD

Charlotte Boney, MD

Stephanie Davis, MD

Michael J. Donnelly, MD

Lewis First, MD

Meredith Irwin, MD

Angelo P. Giardino, MD

Mary Leonard, MD, MSCE

Joseph Neglia, MD, MPH

Mary Taylor, MD

More Webinars Coming Soon

  • January 16, 2024
    Title: What do new chairs need to know about budgets: Pearls and Pitfalls
    Speakers: Lucky Jain, MD,  Emory University School of Medicine and Jeanne James, MD, MBA, FAAP, Children’s Mercy Kansas City
    Recording
  • January 10, 2024
    Title: Raising the Bar: The Need for Increased Financial Support to Sustain and Expand the Community of Pediatric Subspecialists Webinar
    Speakers: Mary Leonard, MD – Stanford University School of Medicine and Satyan Lakshminrusimha, MD FAAP, UC Davis Children’s Hospital
    Recording
  • December 12, 2023
    Title:
    What do new chairs need to know about DEI: Pearls and Pitfalls
    Speakers: Michael Cabana, MD, MPH, Albert Einstein College of Medicine and Stephanie Davis, MD, University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill School of Medicine
    Recording
  • October 5, 2023
    Title: What do new chairs need to know about AMSPDC: An introduction to AMSPDC Engagement and Committees
    Speakers: AMSPDC Committee Chairs
    Recording
  • June 1, 2023
    Title: Challenges and Opportunities in Communication
    Speaker: Mary Leonard, MD , Stanford University School of Medicine
    Resources: 30 Day Review Doc, 90 Day Review Doc
    Recording
  • April 7, 2023 
    Title: Community Engagement & Advocacy: What Department Chairs need to know
    Speaker: Lisa Chamberlain, MD, MPH, Medical Director of the Stanford Pediatric Advocacy Program
    Recording

Chair: Mitchell B. Cohen, MD, University of Alabama at Birmingham Children’s Hospital – mcohen@uabmc.edu

Charlotte Boney, MD, Baystate Children’s Hospital – charlotte.boneymd@baystatehealth.org

Stephanie Davis, MD, University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill School of Medicine – stephanie_davis@med.unc.edu

Michael J. Donnelly, MD, Georgetown University School of Medicine – Mjd55@georgetown.edu

Lewis First, MD, University of Vermont Larner College of Medicine – lewis.first@med.uvm.edu

Angelo P. Giardino, MD PhD, University of Utah School of Medicine – giardino@hsc.utah.edu

Joseph Neglia, MD, MPH, University of Minnesota Masonic Children’s Hospital – jneglia@umn.edu

Meredith Irwin, MD, University of Toronto – meredith.irwin@sickkids.ca

Mary Leonard, MD, MSCE, Stanford University School of Medicine – leonard5@stanford.edu

Mary Taylor, MD, University of Mississippi School of Medicine – mbtaylor@umc.edu

Back To Top